Undepressed in a Depression

Keeping your attitude up while the economy is down.

Connecticut Fever June 21, 2010

Filed under: Coping with Unemployment — Jessie Sawyer @ 12:37

Ever since I studied abroad in Spain, I have developed a passion for traveling. My friends and I would visit cities all over Spain, and some weekends, we would venture out of the country to see sites that we had never had before in England, Ireland, and Italy. When I got back to Bates, I was a little stir-crazy since we weren’t traveling every weekend any more. To remedy that, I busied myself with studies and extracurriculars.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

I have been living at home for a year now, and the level of stimulation that you had in college is no longer there. Most of my friends have moved out of the state, and I have made new ones, but I find myself longing to once again travel and have new adventures.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

When you have lived in one place for most of your life, you still have your ties to the area and its infrastructure, but once you’ve stepped out, you grow more and more curious about what’s out there. What sailors call cabin fever, I call Connecticut fever.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

I love the state and am grateful to have grown up here, but I sometimes grow frustrated that I’m still living at home and am not living in one of the cities where I had dreamed I’d be.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

So, how do I deal with Connecticut fever?

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Well, it always starts off with ranting at some point or another, usually to my parents, who remind me to be happy that I have found a job in a field that I love and also that I can keep looking for ways to move to where I want to be in the future.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

They’re absolutely right. I have a great job, and am being paid to write which is always a perk. Just because I’m not in Boston or D.C. right now, doesn’t mean I never will be.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

You have to remember that while life is in the moment, the moment isn’t all that exists. Your future holds many new moments, some lasting longer than others. If you don’t like the moment you’re in, decide how you’re going to change it, and for the time being, enjoy what you have.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

When you grow bored and are looking for something exciting to happen, it’s not surprising that you might overdramatize things. Doing so allows you to feign action and adventure, however, just talking about issues never fully solves them. If you are unhappy with your situation, you have to do everything in your power to change it.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Complaining and venting is better than bottling your frustrations, but don’t do so to an excess. Your attitude affects your emotional state. The more you complain, the more unhappy you will be if you never do anything about it.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

When you have a fever, the only way to break it is to let yourself recover. Try relaxing and spending more time outside when the weather’s nice. Or find whatever it is that’s gets you a state of chi. The wonderful thing about being bored is that you have a lot of time to rest. And resting will ease your mind a bit.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

At the same time, try to keep yourself busy. This is always my advice to friends who are going through breakups, and it is the same advice I’d give when you’re experiencing monotony. When you’re living at home without a lot of activity going on, you’re essentially in a long-term relationship with your town and may feel like you’re in a rut. You can’t get out of a rut when you’re just sitting there. You need to climb and initiate a change of pace. Find the unexplored regions of your state and discover that there are things to do and new interesting people to meet.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Enjoy living at home as much as you can. It definitely has its benefits. Being close to your family and free rent, for instance, are both advantageous.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Feel free to keep looking, but don’t be blind to what you already have.

 

One Response to “Connecticut Fever”

  1. Susan Says:

    I recently came across your site and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    Cure for Sweaty Feet


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.