Undepressed in a Depression

Keeping your attitude up while the economy is down.

The First Job June 15, 2010

Filed under: Coping with Unemployment — Jessie Sawyer @ 12:37

I apologize to my readers that I have been absent for a few weeks, but I assure you there is good reason. Almost a year from my college graduation, I accepted a job a a reporter for a local newspaper called the Torrington Register Citizen.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

When I graduated last year, I never thought that it would take an entire year to find a job. However, it doesn’t really matter because I still had a lot of experiences this year in various internship, freelance, and temping opportunities. My friends who graduated this May have faired better in finding jobs than my class did, however, for those of you who didn’t find jobs, be patient. My advice to you is to stay busy and gain experiences in whatever you can so that you have something to talk about when you eventually get job interviews. Don’t wait around for a job to come to you. Apply to jobs every day and network with whoever you can. Relationships are a large part of any business, and they are integral to the job search, as well.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Your first job won’t necessarily be the last job you have, but you should use every moment at your first job to learn and build a name for yourself. Always put your best self forward.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

My job has a three-month orientation period, and at the end of that three months they decide if they want to keep me on or let me go. So, even when you get a job, that is not the end of hard work. In addition to learning all of the programs and software that the newspaper uses, I am covering four towns and have to do so as if I have always been there. Even after you find a job, never lose steam, and always be looking forward and have a clear idea about what you want to get out of the job and where you want to go with your career.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

Now, this is an unemployment blog, and I had vowed to write every week until I found a job. However, I think unemployment is still an issue to be addressed, so I will continue to write at least on a weekly basis. Please feel free to write in and ask for advice about the job search or to tell me about your job search experiences. As a reporter and a writer, I am very interested in telling other people’s stories that they feel are worth telling. Post a comment with your contact information, and I’d be happy to hear your story.

ANY_CHARACTER_HERE

In the meantime, you may read my stories about New Hartford, Barkhamsted, Harwinton, and Litchfield at http://registercitizen.com.

 

One Response to “The First Job”

  1. Phyllis Graber Jensen Says:

    Knock ‘em dead, Jessie! Congratulations on landing your reporting job and best of luck in your orientation period.

    Phyllis Graber Jensen


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.